RSS Feed

Devil’s Angel Food Cake

Today, I’m feeling positively sinful!

I have just purchased the most perfect pair of taupe knee-high boots and am currently contemplating acquiring a brown pair of boots as well as a new purse.  Yesterday I enjoyed a delightful dinner of pizza, breadsticks and chocolate ice cream after completely ignoring a sink full of dishes.  I believe that covers pride, greed, gluttony, and sloth.

I think times like these are necessary for a woman to keep her sanity…even a self-proclaimed housewife like myself.  I can’t be June Cleaver every day after all; though tomorrow I shall put on my pearls and apron and try very hard to be.

I have a busy Saturday planned baking cupcakes for a friend’s 30th birthday party, so my apron will certainly see plenty of action.  Decorations have already been prepared (greatly helped by the Cake Cricut my friend got me for my birthday last year), baking begins this evening, and the bulk of the work will be done tomorrow morning (hopefully before it gets too hot with this heat wave we have all been having).  You will have to wait for that post, as I am sure these cupcakes will make the cut to be included on the blog.

But, back to being sinful.  If one is going to be sinful, this is certainly an excellent choice of dessert to do so.

Image

I made it for my father-in-law’s birthday.  Some years ago he had requested an angel food cake with chocolate frosting.  I had made a simple angel food cake and covered it in chocolate ganache.  He requested the same this year, but I decided to take it quite a bit further.

Image

You can use just about any chocolate angel food cake recipe to make this cake.  I chose one from Food.com.  The frosting is simply chocolate ganache which has been beaten into submission.  Constructing the cake is very easy…but the final product is devilishly delicious!

Devil’s Angel Food Cake
Adapted from Food.com

Ingredients

  • ⅔ cup sifted caked flour
  • ⅓ cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 ½ cups sugar (divided)
  • 12 large egg whites, at room temperature (about 2 cups)
  • 1 ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ tsp cream of tartar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 12 oz bittersweet chocolate
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • Fresh Raspberries (optional)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Sift together the cocoa, ¾ cup sugar, and flour.  Set aside.
  3. Beat egg whites at a low speed in a large mixing bowl (be sure it is clean and dry) until foamy, about 5 minutes.  Add vanilla, cream of tartar, and salt.  Gradually increase speed to medium while beating in remaining ¾ cup sugar.  When sugar is incorporated, continue beating until stiff peaks form.
  4. Sift the dry ingredients over the whites in thirds, gently folding in with a spatula after each addition.
  5. Pour the batter into two 8 or 9 inch baking pans.  Cut through to remove air pockets.
  6. Bake 40 to 45 minutes, until top springs back to the touch.
  7. Let cake cool about 10 minutes.  Run a knife around the side of the pan and invert onto a cooling rack.  Cool cake completely before frosting.
  8. Heat heavy cream on medium high just until it starts to boil.  Remove from heat and immediately pour cream over the bittersweet chocolate.  Let it rest for about thirty seconds to one minute, and then stir until completely mixed and glossy.  Allow the ganache to cool.
  9. Reserve about ¼ to ½ cup of the ganache.  Whip the remaining on medium high speed until it is thick and at spreading consistency.
  10. Take half of the whipped ganache and spread it over one cake layer.  Place the second layer on top and then top the whole thing with the remaining whipped ganache.
  11. Drizzle the reserved ganache over the entire cake and garnish with fresh raspberries.
About Elizabeth Hofeldt

I am just another woman in her mid-twenties. Who should have been born in 1942 and feels more at home in her kitchen then anywhere else. I bake, I run, I craft, and try to squeeze in work five days a week so that I can afford my shoe collection.

3 responses »

  1. I just love you so much!! Save the shoe collection $$ for house $$ and come dig thru mine!!

    Reply
  2. The cupcakes were amazing! I finally got to try the tiramisu one last night with tea, and on man, I can’t decide which one I like more!!

    Reply
  3. Also, I want to eat that cake despite all the consequences. 8D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

