RSS Feed

Follow the Red Brick Road…

This is not my usual post.

No yummy treats for you.  Sorry.

Instead, I want to share with you a delightful trip I took to one of the most amazeballs cities ever.

Recently, I visited Boston on business.  Because that’s the kind of person I am now.  Someone who goes to Boston on business!  I’m a total adult now, it’s no big deal.

I work for a research institute at a university and our primary activity is an annual conference.  One of our future conferences will be in Boston, so my boss sent me there to look at hotels.  In between my meetings, I was able to see quite a bit of the city and absolutely fell in love with it!  It’s basically a wonderful land made of brick and I want to share it with you.

I stayed at the Omni Parker House, located in the heart of downtown Boston.  It falls directly on the Freedom Trail, across the street from the King’s Chapel.  It’s one of those super historical hotels that make you feel like you’ve walked into the lobby of the Tower of Terror (minus dust, cobwebs and plummeting elevators).  It’s actually the longest continuously operating hotel in the U.S.

Lobby of the Omni Parker House

Super important people have stayed there.  Like Charles Dickens and Emeril Lagasse.

Guess what else?  They invented the Boston Cream Pie.  Actually invented it.

And because I was such an important guest, they had one waiting for me in my room when I checked in.

I’m important enough for Boston Cream Pie. True Story.

Walking around Boston is a like stepping back in time.  Only next to every aging brick building is either a glass sky-rise or a Dunkin Donuts.

Dunkin Donuts is a big deal there or something.  They are everywhere!

I did the requisite walk along the Freedom Trail (which is a literal red brick trail that winds through Boston hitting all the historic landmarks).  My favorites were Faneuil Hall, Paul Revere’s House, and the creepily old cemetery at King’s Chapel.

This is Faneuil Hall – complete with statue of Samuel Adams (who I dutifully thanked for all the beer).

Paul Revere’s House – I didn’t go inside but enjoyed looking at it from the cobblestone street.

It’s creepy and old. Like, seriously old.

Every day I was there I managed a stroll through the Boston Common, which was beautiful because leaves were just starting to turn!  On the day I visited the Park Plaza Hotel, I walked through the Public Garden and yet another creepily old cemetery (because seriously, creepily old cemeteries were everywhere).

Boston Common – Makes me miss fall!

Boston Public Garden – usually there are Swan Boats here, but I assume they fly away for the winter :)

Near the Public Garden was a landmark I knew I had to visit while I was in Boston.  On Beacon Hill, across from the park, is Cheers.  The outside is the same as the show, but the inside is completely different.  I didn’t care – I had myself a couple beers (Sam Adams Oktoberfest) and a cheeseburger and enjoyed listening to bartender rant at customers in his Bostonian accent.

Fact: There are two Cheers locations. One is on Beacon Hill and has the original entrance featured on the show. The second is at Faneuil Hall.

One of my final outings was to visit Harvard University.  I took the subway, which is an amazingly efficient way to get around and made me deeply ashamed of our public transportation here in California.  Seriously, why don’t we have Subways?

I didn’t take any pictures because I was trying to walk around as though I was a genius who obviously attends Harvard and has super-smart ideas about art and politics.  So when I decided to sit down at a café across the street at a table next to some guys talking about economic theory, I tried to hide the fact was actually reading Fifty Shades of Grey on my Kindle.

I did buy myself a Harvard t-shirt!

About Elizabeth Hofeldt

I am just another woman in her mid-twenties. Who should have been born in 1942 and feels more at home in her kitchen then anywhere else. I bake, I run, I craft, and try to squeeze in work five days a week so that I can afford my shoe collection.

One response »

  1. Nothing wrong with blogging about a trip! I’m heading to the East Coast soon, too–that is, if the storms calm down before the 10th.

    And in case you’re wondering, no, I’m not going for business. Strictly pleasure. Wink?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

