RSS Feed

Blood Orange Angel Food Cakelets

I freely admit that I am spoiled.  Mostly by my husband, whose greatest joy in life is doing things to make me happy.

It’s true, I asked him one time.

He even woke up on a Sunday at 6:30am to drive me to a 5K because I didn’t want to drive the half hour by myself.  After, he took me to breakfast AND coffee (although the coffee doesn’t necessarily count because we do that every Sunday morning).  The weekend before that, he took me to see The Hunger Games for the second time (because I’m a little obsessed with that movie right now).  And before that he went to Target and bought me Tangled because I was bored and it wasn’t on Netflix anymore.

Also, I’m pretty sure I can expect a shiny piece of jewelry contained in a pretty blue box for my our anniversary this summer.  You know what blue box I’m talking about and you know where it comes from!  It means he loves me A LOT!

So yeah, basically I’m completely spoiled.

I’m also spoiled because I live in southern California.  With the exception of May Grey and June Gloom (those are real things, you can google it and everything) we can rely on nice sunny weather pretty much every day.

You see that blue sky? No folks, that’s no green screen or photo editing. PERFECT WEATHER (almost) ALL THE TIME!! It’s in all caps so you know I’m really serious.

We also have an abundance of Farmer’s Markets.  Pick any day of the week and you can find one going on somewhere in Orange County.  My personal favorite happens every Saturday at the UC-Irvine campus.

A while back, I purchased a VERY large bag of blood oranges.  This was kind of an impulse buy because normally I hate fruit that is hard to eat and/or stains my hands.  But I had recently come across a recipe for grapefruit angel food cake and felt a sudden inspiration when I looked at those blood oranges…

Tiny little cakelets of citrusy joy!

Deliciously sweet blood oranges fresh from the farmers market baked into angel food cake?  Yes please!

I decided to make them into little mini desserts because I don’t feel bad about eating sweets when they are bit sized.  I’m pretty sure that once something is reduced to two bites it loses all calories.  I use the same logic with broken cookies–if you only eat part of a cookie then it doesn’t count.  Even if you eat all the other parts of that cookie later in the day.

Presentation is everything! Things taste better when they are artfully arranged on tiny spoons.

Edit: I want to add in a couple tips about this recipe.  First (and this applies to anytime you make cake) it is very important that you let the ingredients come to room temperature before you begin mixing.  Cold ingredients, especially the egg whites, will not come together correctly or as easily.  I put out my egg whites first thing, and then measured out all my other ingredients and prepared the cupcake pan; by the time the eggs had reached room temperature everything was ready to go and mixing was a snap!  Second, when whipping the egg whites make sure everything is very clean and dry!  Egg whites can be temperamental and won’t whip up if there is excess water or residue on the bowl or mixer.

Blood Orange Angel Food Cakelets
Adapted from Back to the Cutting Board

  • 6 large egg whites
  • ½ cup powdered sugar
  • ½ cup flour
  • 2 tsp. blood orange zest
  • ¾ tsp. cream of tartar
  • 2 tsp. fresh-squeezed blood orange juice
  • ⅛ tsp. salt
  • ⅓ cup sugar
  • ½ cup strained fresh-squeezed blood orange juice
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 1 pint fresh raspberries (optional)
  1. Place egg whites in a mixing bowl and let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F). Fill mini cupcake pan with paper liners (or spray the pan with cooking spray and forgo the liners).
  3. Sift powdered sugar and flour together three times. Stir in orange zest. Set aside.
  4. Add cream of tartar, 2 tsp. orange juice and salt to the egg whites. Beat on medium speed until frothy. Gradually add the ⅓ cup sugar and beat on high speed until sugar is dissolved and stiff peaks form.
  5. Gently fold in flour mixture, ¼ cup at a time. Gently spoon batter into cupcake pan, filling about ¾ full. Use a knife to cut through the batter to remove air pockets. Bake for about 10 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
  6. Meanwhile, stir together ½ cup orange juice and ¼ cup sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil, reduce heat slightly and simmer until the mixture has reduced by half, about 15 minutes. Set aside to cool.
  7. Serve the cakes drizzled with the syrup and garnish with fresh raspberries.
About Elizabeth Hofeldt

I am just another woman in her mid-twenties. Who should have been born in 1942 and feels more at home in her kitchen then anywhere else. I bake, I run, I craft, and try to squeeze in work five days a week so that I can afford my shoe collection.

Leave a Reply

