RSS Feed

2nd Anniversary

My relationship with my husband would make a terrible romance novel.

We are in no way an exciting couple.  It would be like watching glue dry.  Worse even…like reading about someone who is watching glue dry.

Our friends have often referred to us as the “old couple”.  So what if we sometimes go to bed at 9pm on a Saturday?  Don’t judge me.

Some call it a rut – we call it routine.  Every Sunday morning we go to the same coffee shop and order the same drinks.  We spend our evenings watching episodes of How I Met Your Mother on Netflix, even though we’ve seen them all.  We go to the same restaurant every Valentine’s Day.  In the seven years we’ve been together, not a year has gone by when we didn’t watch The Brother’s Grimm – the movie he took me to see on our first date.  We really wouldn’t have it any other way.

Recently we celebrated our second wedding anniversary.  Unlike all other holidays and special occasions, this is one where we don’t have an established routine.  Last year we went to an Irish pub and saw Captain America.  I know…super romantic, right?

This year we considered a weekend getaway – but with my sister’s Vegas wedding and an upcoming camping trip the thought of packing, driving, and sleeping in a strange bed was not high on our list.  So we decided to keep it local…but that doesn’t mean we didn’t make it special!

Since our anniversary was on a Sunday, we began the day the same way we begin every Sunday…a trip to our favorite coffee shop in Newport Beach!  He ordered his dark chocolate mocha and I had my Turkish café latte with cardamom!

Our next outing was all for me…a picnic in the park!  We ate lunch in the grass next to the creek, lounged on our blanket reading our books, and fed the ducks in the pond! It was marvelous and I loved every minute of it!  For the lunch I packed goat cheese pizza pockets, fresh pear slices, couscous salad (recipe below), and brownies.

A delicious picnic for two

Beautiful setting!

The duckies!! And you can see the world’s more ginormous coy fish in the center of the picture!

After a relaxing afternoon, we packed up the picnic basket and headed to the movie theater to see The Dark Knight Rises (I know, we are so unromantic, but we can’t help that we love superhero movies).  I suggest it to anyone who hasn’t yet seen it, but I don’t suggest too many liquids before sitting down to this 3 hour movie!

For dinner, we went to the Orange County Mining Co. where we sat at a window overlooking Orange and Anaheim.  This place is the perfect balance of casual and fancy.  The atmosphere is comfortable and informal, but the food is worthy of any fine dining restaurant.  I enjoyed the most delicious filet mignon with béarnaise sauce and garlic mashed potatoes!

The view from the Orange County Mining co.

I know…not exactly a day worthy of romantic prose…but it was exactly perfect for the two of us!

We did get each other gifts…which perfectly illustrate how nerdy we both are!  I got him the special edition Derpy Hooves pony from the 2012 San Diego Comic Con and he got me a pink cupcake necklace from Tiffany’s!

Special Edition Derpy Hooves Pony

There are few things greater than seeing that special blue box!

Israeli Couscous Salad
Adapted from Use Real Butter
Serves 6-8

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Israeli couscous, uncooked
  • 1 cob of corn, cooked, cooled
  • 1 medium cucumber, chopped
  • 1 cup chopped heirloom tomatoes
  • ½ cup canned chickpeas, rinsed
  • ¼ cup feta cheese
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Juice of one lemon
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley, diced
  • ¼ tsp curry powder
  • ¼ tsp turmeric
  1. In a medium saucepan, bring about 2 quarts of water to boil.  Pour the couscous into the water and cook until pasta is tender, about 5-10 minutes.  Drain the couscous and rinse with cold water.
  2. Shuck the corn kernels off the cob.
  3. In a large mixing bowl add couscous, corn, cucumber, tomatoes, chickpeas, and feta cheese.
  4. Drizzle olive oil and lemon juice over the salad and sprinkle with salt, pepper, parsley, curry powder, and turmeric.  Mix until coated.  Adjust seasoning to your liking.
About Elizabeth Hofeldt

I am just another woman in her mid-twenties. Who should have been born in 1942 and feels more at home in her kitchen then anywhere else. I bake, I run, I craft, and try to squeeze in work five days a week so that I can afford my shoe collection.

Leave a Reply

